Research Advisory Committee

Our Research Advisory Committee (RAC) consists of fifteen to twenty members who provide scientific and medical advice to Wellbeing of Women and make recommendations to the board of trustees regarding which projects the charity should support. The committee also assesses ongoing grants and reports findings to the board of trustees, advising on any necessary course of action.

The committee includes clinicians and researchers who are experts in the field of women’s reproductive and gynaecological health. The members each have unique specialities that contribute to the committee’s broad range of expertise. Each member is independent of the charity to ensure that all recommendations made are objective and impartial.

The committee must always abide by the Wellbeing of Women’s  Conflicts of Interest Policy.

Committee members


Professor Stephen Robson – Professor of Fetal Medicine, Newcastle University

Deputy chair

Dr David Williams – Associate Professor in Maternal Medicine, University College London

Researchers and clinicians

Professor Mohamed Abdel-Fattah – Clinical Chair in Gynaecology, University of Aberdeen

Professor Ahmed Ahmed – Professor of Gynaecological Oncology, University of Oxford

Professor William Atiomo – Clinical Associate Professor in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Nottingham

Dr Kirstie Coxon – Associate Professor (Research) Midwifery, Kingston University London

Dr Ian Crocker – Senior Lecturer in Maternal and Fetal Health, University of Manchester

Professor Dharani Hapangama – Professor of Gynaecology, University of Liverpool

Dr Stamatina Iliodromiti – Clinical Lecturer in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Raheela Khan – Professor of Cellular Physiology, University of Nottingham

Dr Sarah Martin – Senior Lecturer and Deputy Centre Lead for Molecular Oncology, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Pierre Martin-Hirsch – Director of Research & Innovation (Gynae Oncology), Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Linda McGowan – Leadership Chair-Applied Health Research, University of Leeds

Dr David McLernon – Senior Research Fellow in Medical Statistics, University of Aberdeen

Professor Julia Sanders – Professor of Clinical Nursing and Midwifery, Cardiff University

Professor Pauline Slade – Professor in Clinical Psychology, University of Liverpool

Professor Shakila Thangaratinam – Professor in Maternal and Perinatal Health, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Rachel Tribe – Professor of Maternal and Perinatal Sciences, King’s College London

Dr Manu Vatish – Senior Clinical Fellow in Obstetrics, University of Oxford

Professor Krina Zondervan – Professor of Reproductive and Genomic Epidemiology, University of Oxford