Home Our research Research Advisory Committee

Research Advisory Committee

Research Advisory Committee (RAC)

Our Research Advisory Committee, comprising practising scientists, medics, researchers and academics. Its remit is to:

Provide scientific and medical advice to Wellbeing of Women

  • Assess grant applications and recommend awards to the Board of Trustees
  • Consider fellowships and other Wellbeing of Women awards and makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees
  • Assess ongoing grants and report findings to the Board of Trustees, advising of any necessary course of action
  • Provide guidance on the charity’s research strategy.

RAC members

Professor Steve Robson (Chairman), Professor of Fetal Medicine, University of Newcastle

Mr Mohamed Abdel-Fattah, Senior Clinical Lecturer, The University of Aberdeen

Dr Natalie Armstrong, Senior Lecturer in Social Science Applied to Health, University of Leicester

Professor William Atiomo, Clinical Associate Professor and Consultant Gynaecologist, University of Nottingham

Dr Rufus Cartwright, Clinical Research Fellow, Imperial College London

Dr Ying Cheong, Associate Professor Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Honorary Consultant in Reproductive Medicine and Surgery, Clinical Director, Complete Fertility Centre, Southampton

Dr Francesco Colucci, Reader in Immunology, University of Cambridge

Dr Gerard Conway, Clinical Lead in Endocrinology and Diabetes, University College London Hospital

Dr Emma Crosbie, Clinical Lecturer in Gynaecological Oncology, University of Manchester

Professor Andrew Horne, Senior Clinical Lecturer and Consultant Gynaecologist, University of Edinburgh

Professor Raheela Khan, Professor of Cellular Physiology, University of Nottingham

Ms Sara Kenyon, Reader in Evidence Based Maternity Care, University of Birmingham

Dr Karen Luyt, Consultant Senior Lecturer, University of Bristol

Professor Jane Sandall CBE, Chair in Social Science and Women’s Health, King’s College London

Mrs Sudha Sundar, Senior Lecturer in Gynaecological Oncology, University of Birmingham

Professor Shakila Thangaratinam, Professor of Maternal and Perinatal Health, Barts and the London School of Medicine

Dr Manu Vatish, Senior Clinical Fellow in Obstetrics, University of Oxford

Professor Krina Zondervan, Professor of Reproductive and Genomic Epidemiology, Co-Director Endometriosis CaRe Centre, University of Oxford.

Members sit for a term of three years and meet twice a year at the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists in London.