You don't have to accept severe period pain or heavy bleeding. Join the "Just a Period" campaign

Research Advisory Committee

Our research is selected, monitored and evaluated by our eminent Research Advisory Committee (RAC), a team of established and expert clinicians and researchers.

Each member serves a fixed term to make sure we have fresh opinions and up-to-date expertise.

Decisions are based on each project’s scientific value, the quality of the applicants and what research will have the greatest impact on women’s health.

Committee members:

Professor Hilary Critchley (Chair), Professor of Reproductive Medicine, University of Edinburgh.

Professor Dilly Anumba (Deputy Chair), Chair of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Sheffield

Professor Ahmed Ahmed, Professor of Gynaecological Oncology, University of Oxford

Dr Rufus Cartwright, Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer, Imperial College London

Dr Kirstie Coxon, Reader in Maternity Care, University of Central Lancashire

Professor Jane Daniels, Professor of Clinical Trials, University of Nottingham

Dr Abigail Easter, Senior Lecturer in Maternal and Newborn Health, King’s College London

Professor Abigail Fraser, Professor of Epidemiology, University of Bristol

Professor Dharani Hapangama, Professor of Gynaecology, University of Liverpool

Dr Sarah Hillman, NIHR Academic Clinical Lecturer in Primary Care, University of Warwick

Dr Jennifer Jardine, Academic Clinical Lecturer and a Speciality Registrar in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Queen Mary University of London

Dr Channa Jayasana, Reader in Reproductive Endocrinology, Imperial College London

Professor Pierre Martin-Hirsch, Consultant Gynaecological Oncologist, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Sarah McClelland, Professor of Cancer Cell Biology and Genomics, Queen Mary University of London

Dr David McLernon, Senior Research Fellow in Medical Statistics, University of Aberdeen

Mr Lee Middleton, Reader in Clinical Trials and Statistics Lead at the Birmingham Clinical Trials Unit, University of Birmingham

Professor Ashley Moffett, Director of Research, Emeritus Professor of Reproductive Immunology, University of Cambridge

Professor Katie Morris, Professor of Obstetrics and Maternal Fetal Medicine, University of Birmingham

Professor Julia Sanders, Professor of Clinical Nursing and Midwifery, Cardiff University

Professor Philippa Saunders, Chair of Reproductive Steroids, University of Edinburgh

Professor Pauline Slade, Professor in Clinical Psychology and Consultant Clinical Psychologist, University of Liverpool

Dr Natalie Suff, Clinical Lecturer, King’s College London

Dr Nicola Tempest, NIHR Academic Clinical Lecturer, University of Liverpool

Professor Rachel Tribe, Professor of Maternal and Perinatal Sciences, King’s College London

Midwifery subcommittee

We are also supported by our Midwifery Subcommittee – three expert members in the field of midwifery research who sit on behalf of Wellbeing of Women and the Royal College of Midwives.

Dr Annette Briley, Professor of Women’s Health & Midwifery Research, Flinders University

Professor Vanora Hundley, Professor of Midwifery and Deputy Dean for Research and Professional Practice, University of Bournemouth

Professor Jayne Marshall, Foundation Professor of Midwifery, University of Leicester

Our peer reviewers

We work alongside a group of dedicated peer reviewers, who are women’s health experts working in specific fields from around the world.

Without their insight, expertise and hard work, it would be impossible to do what we do to fund high-quality research that benefits the lives of babies, girls and women.